Supreme Court Judges Set to Rule on Atiku and Obi’s Appeal Against Tinubu

Written by Bola Abraham

The Supreme Court of Nigeria has set up a seven-member panel of justices to hear the appeals filed by three presidential candidates who are challenging the outcome of the February 25 presidential election.

Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Peter Obi of the Labour Party (LP), and Chichi Ojei of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM) are seeking to overturn the election victory of President Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The court notices signed by Zainab M. Garba in the office of the registrar, said by the Order 2 Rule 1 (2) of the Supreme Court’s Rules 1985 as amended, the notice is deemed as sufficiently served on the parties.

According to the information in the notice, the list of members of the panel to sit on the appeals include justices Musa Dattijo Muhammad, Uwani Musa Abba Aji, Lawal Garba, Helen M. Ogunwumiju, I.N. Saulawa, Tijjani Abubakar and Emmanuel Agim.

The apex court has also fixed Monday, October 23, for hearing of the motion filed by Atiku, seeking to bring fresh evidence to prove that President Tinubu submitted a forged certificate to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Atiku and his party have alleged that Tinubu’s certificate was not authentic and that he was not qualified to contest for the presidency. They have also claimed that there were irregularities and malpractices in some states during the election.

Tinubu and his party have denied the allegations and urged the court to dismiss the appeals for lacking merit. They have also maintained that Tinubu’s certificate was valid and that he met all the constitutional requirements to run for the office.

The Supreme Court is expected to deliver its judgment on the appeals within 60 days from the date of filing. The judgment will be final and binding on all parties.

Leave a Comment