Incumbent Governor Douye Diri Wins Bayelsa State Governorship Election

Written by Benjamin Adewumi

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared incumbent Governor Douye Diri as the winner of the Bayelsa State governorship election held on Saturday. Governor Diri defeated the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Chief Timipre Sylva, and sixteen other candidates.

The announcement was made by the State Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Minna, Prof. Kuta Farouk, at the Prof. Mahmood Yakubu Media Centre, INEC, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.

Read More
Gun battle between APC and SDP supporters leaves several injured.
Tinubu Appoints Fela Durotoye, Four Others as Presidential Advisers
Omokri accuses AriseTV and Rufai Oseni of Insurrection over Tinubu’s degree

Governor Diri won in six out of the eight local government areas of the state, while his closest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva of the APC, won in two LGAs. According to Prof. Farouk, Governor Diri scored 175,196 votes, defeating Chief Sylva, who received 110,108 votes.

The total number of registered voters for the election was 1,056,862, with 372,000 voters accredited. The local government areas won by the PDP candidate include Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenagoa, Sagbama, Nembe, Ekeremor, Brass, and Southern Ijaw. Meanwhile, Chief Sylva of the APC won in Nembe and Brass LGAs.

This victory reaffirms Governor Diri’s leadership in the state and demonstrates the trust the people of Bayelsa State have in his administration.

Leave a Comment